Virginia traffic law is unusual in that any traffic violations you are charged with in Virginia are reported to a vast majority of other states. Both speeding convictions and other traffic violations in Virginia are assigned demerit points by the VA DMV. A speeding ticket can be a three, four point or six point violation, depending upon how fast you were driving. Reckless Driving by speed is a six point offense. In Virginia, if you accumulate more than 18 points in a single year or 24 points in two years, the Department of Motor Vehicles will suspend your license.
Law Office of Stephen B. Plott, PLC is skilled and experiened in using legal strategies to secure dismissal or reduction for all Virginia traffic offenses such as:
- Illegal Turns
- Failure to Stop
- Failure to Obey a Highway Sign
- Driving with suspended or revoked license
- Driving with Expired tags
- Driving without registration/expired registration
- Hit and Run
- Reckless Driving
- All other Traffic Violatiosn
We can generally handle cases without the necessity of our clients appearing in court.
The Law Office of Stephen B. Plott, PLC defends drivers who have been ticketed in the jurisdictions of Suffolk, Portsmouth, Isle of Wight, Sussex County, Chesapeake, Hampton and Newport News.
If you receive a Virginia ticket for speeding or any other traffic offense, contact our office. We provide free initial consultations in person or over the phone.
Virginia Out-Of-State Traffic Violation Attorney
Many of our cases involve defending out-of-state motorists driving through Virginia on Interstate 95, Interstate 64 or other roads. For instance, in North Carolina your license will be suspended if you are convicted of driving more than 15 miles per hour above the speed limit in a 55 or more mile-per-hour zone in Virginia. When defending out-of-state drivers, we can usually handle all parts of the case without our client having to come to court in Virginia. We can consult with you over the phone about the specifics of your case and appear in court on your behalf. As your local traffic attorney, Stephen B. Plott will provide the strongest possible defense to have your charges dismissed or reduced.
The Law Office of Stephen B. Plott, PLC defends drivers who have been ticketed in the jurisdictions of the Suffolk, Portsmouth, Isle of Wight, Sussex County, Chesapeake, Hampton and Newport News.
If you receive an out-of-state Virginia traffic violation, contact our office. We provide free initial consultations in person or over the phone.
Any speeding ticket has the potential to bring on serious consequences. In Virginia, certain types of speeding tickets can bring on exceptionally high penalties. If you are charged with going more than 80 mph or going 20 or more mph over the speed limit, you can be charged with reckless driving by speed. If you have been accused of going 90 mph or more, you may face serious penalties, including even jail time. Reckless driving by speed is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is an extremely serious matter, leading to the possible suspension of your license. Whether you live in Virginia or are an out-of-state driver accused of reckless driving by speed, it is absolutely crucial to have an experienced defense lawyer on your side.
The Law Office of Stephen B. Plott, PLC defends drivers who have been charged with reckless driving in the jurisdictions of the Suffolk, Portsmouth, Isle of Wight, Sussex County, Chesapeake, Hampton and Newport News.
If you’re charged with reckless driving in Virgina, contact our office. We provide free initial consultations in person or over the phone.
DUI (Driving Under the Influence) and DUID (Driving Under the Influence of Drugs) are both considered criminal offenses. A first offense is a misdemeanor. It carries the potential of up to 12 months in jail along with a maximum fine of $2,500.00. Additionally, your operator’s license is suspended for 12 months. You may request a restricted license, but it is very limited. Also, in order to have the restricted license, you must attend VASAP (the Virginia Alcohol Safety Awareness Program) and you have to install an ignition interlock system for at least 6 months. Additionally, if you have prior convictions of similar charges, the potential punishment increases or if you have an elevated breath alcohol content certain minimum punishments become effective. In other words, certain minimum jail sentences apply. Finally, a third offense within a particular time frame is considered a felony. Needless to say, a conviction of this type of charge is devastating.
If you are facing drunk driving charges (DUI or DUID) in Virginia, it is imperative that you seek the help of a lawyer you trust.
Attorney Stephen B. Plott defends drivers who have been ticketed in the jurisdictions of Portsmouth, Suffolk, Chesapeake, Newport News, Hampton, Isle of Wight, and Sussex County.